She Who Dies With The Most Yarn Wins

I am actually going to post about knitting! In the name of all that is Good and Wooly, I am.

I, am making a pair of socks. A, singlular. One pair. And for the near future, that is enough.

Yes, it is a crappy picture. No, I don’t care.

Why don’t I care? Because, that is Noro Kureyon Sock Yarn. The colors are fabulously bright. The stripes are wide. The skeins are huge. One skein will make a pair that comes over my calves. They are toe-up (which dad always hears as “to’ [torn] up”, refering to how someone looks. He’s a retired cop, what can I say), so I stop when I run out of yarn. It is awesome.

HOWEVER… (if you have ever felt Kureyon, or even just Noro, you know what is coming)

It feels like it came from steel wool sheep. There are bits of plant matter in it, sticks and twigs. It is a tightly spun, thin, single. It is thick and thin. It knits up beautifully and dense (good for socks) on US size 0 needles. As another knitter has said, “I love the colors, but I hate the feel.”

The yarn was just too pretty to pass up. My mom loves making socks. Most of her stash is sock yarn. My best friend loves making socks. I have not seen her stash, but she is a student (like me), I don’t think she has that much stash. I hate making them with a burning passion. I have been working on this pair since… January? ‘Pert near forever, as far as I’m concerned, for a pair of socks.

We are heading up to our cabin in the morning for a few days. I’ll be back by Wednsday, but it will probably be Tuesday. It gets hot up there.

So, I will leave you with this picture:

Master Gracey, his charming, Victiorian self from “The Haunted Mansion”.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “She Who Dies With The Most Yarn Wins”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    I think most of the appeal of socks to me at first were a) cheap, at <$20 for a pair, compared to $50-$100 for sweater stash, and b) smaller than sweaters and therefore a less scary concept at first. I have grown to love them for other reasons too: The warmth provided by wool socks on a cold winter’s day, the way they completely save my sanity during lecture music classes that I’m afraid I’ll fail, the COLORS that completely delight me and the way handknit socks make me feel special and loved. Warm fuzzy feelings. And honestly, if you don’t like to knit socks, you don’t like to knit socks, and it’s not such a bad thing. Stick to what you like and don’t drag yourself through things you don’t. I wish I could apply that to learning to cook. If only someone else would keep me well-fed the rest of my life.

    I’d bake them cakes and knit them socks. I am a bit of a sock fan aren’t I?

Leave a Reply

