Some Happy, Some Not…

Yeah, what the title says. My aunt died the other night. She had been in and out of the hospital and various rehab places for… a year and a couple months, I think. It wasn’t a surprise, last year we thought she was going to go, but she didn’t.

She really did abuse her body. Gained a lot of weight, then took the surgery route, multiple times without changing her diet. She was a hoarder, house was a mess. Didn’t take care of herself, didn’t take care of her girls (twins, now 16 I think). Lied, manipulated, stole money, everything. I hadn’t (haven’t?) seen her for several years. Little did I know that would be the last time I would ever see her.

I know this is going to sound petty, but I hadn’t gotten a birthday card from her in years. At least since I saw her last, that was the last time I got a card. I know it’s petty, but how much effort does it take to even get a card, sign it, put a stamp on it, and drop it in the mail? I don’t care if there isn’t money in it, just to show that you even think about me at all. I’m really not sure how I feel about it all. I didn’t exactly have a good relationship with her, I’m not even sure it would be termed a relationship. I’m more sad for that side of the family, my mom (who seems pretty okay now), my other aunt (i think she is pretty okay, too), I’m not sure about my uncle, and my grandparents on that side. No parent should have to bury (or in this case, cremate) their child.

Yeah. We knew it was coming. The last year+ has been a roller coaster of “Oh, she’s not going to make it through the night… oh, wait, yes she is, no she isn’t! Oh, she’s fine. Internal bleeding! Holy *&%*) oh wait, false alarm.” Had to have one last (maybe) surgery, trying to fix what was broke, body rebelled, and shut down.

Well, that was about as cheerful as Bella here: 

So, what’s more cheerful?

Went to our cabin last weekend. Yes, it was miserably hot, yes we went to the lake nearby-ish and swam and floated on ‘tubes. That was nice.

On Sunday we are leaving for Morro Bay, wooo! Rented a house, and they take doggies, so Oscar doesn’t have to stay with the grandparents, that have gotten too anal about him, heaven forbid he eat ANYTHING off the ground that he shouldn’t.

Yeah, that’s about it. Buh-bye! 😀

One Response to “Some Happy, Some Not…”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    I’m sorry about your aunt. It’s hard to lose someone you weren’t especially close to. Never really know how to react. My mom lost her older brother a couple of years ago, and it was hard. She was upset, but I just couldn’t feel the same, because I had never known him. I felt worse for his children, my cousins, whose living situations were going to get really rocky with him gone. I hope the twins will be all right.

Leave a Reply

