Things that lie…

First off, watch Eddie Izzard’s “Machines That Lie” (note: he does swear, so if there are any impressionable children about, or you are sensitive about that sort of thing, or at work, can’t say I didn’t warn ya):

Gauge lies to us. It does not tell the truth, for when getting 5.5 stitches to the inch, and for a 34 inch bust, 187 stitches should be used. However, when using 170 stitches, the bust is 4 inches too big. This gauge was measured on the garment, not on the itty bitty postage stamp sized swatch that is knit flat as opposed to in the round.

Sleep also lies. It lies in bed, tempting you. The medical community lies, too. It states that a person needs about 8 hours of sleep every night, yet my ASL teacher in high school claimed to need only 3 each night and could function just fine. I can get 8-10 depending on when I have to get up, and I am tired.

Short update, something a bit more cheery than my previous post, hopefully.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Things that lie…”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    The medical community also tells you to drink 8 glasses of water a day — also a lie. It was supposed to be 64oz. including the liquid in the foods you eat throughout the day, which is a lot. Still, I know I can drink 64oz. during a hot day. I drink between 36-48oz. now. Got to pay attention to your body.

    I hate sleeping 8-10 hours and still being tired. I think making sure I have the same wake-up time 7 days a week helped me in the beginning of the school year (or was it adrenaline?). Another thing that helps is turning off the computer at least half an hour before going to bed at writing in a journal or reading before bed. It seems to get my brain to rest enough to actually rest when I sleep.

    Ramble ramble.

Leave a Reply

