Happy Halloween

Joy.

I worked today. Okay, fine. I wore my Quidditch sweater. I’ll have you know I made it myself. Cascade 220, top down raglan. My dad, my boss, and one of the women that comes in said it looked nice. I don’t know if anybody noticed that I was essentially dressed up as a Quidditch player, without the robe (though I could have, my graduation robe was dark green), shin and forearm guards. Green and gray sweater, tan Dickies, brown shoes. Figured my Ren Faire garb wouldn’t be quite appropriate.

My school is about 40 minutes away. So most of my friends live about 40 minutes away. Any party they would be having or going to would be that far away, or contain people I had no idea who they were. My best friend from high school is going to school in Minnesota. Yeah not going to happen. I’m in California.

I’m not even dressed up right now. We’ve had a few small groups come past, 5 or so I think. I’ve just been on the computer, my parents are taking turns handing out candy.

When my brother and I were young, we would go out with our cousins. Well, the youngest cousin I have now… okay, that doesn’t work, he’s about a year old now. Yes, all of us cousins span about 23 years.

But yeah. Of the cousins we used to trick-or-treat with, the youngest (twin girls) are juniors in high school, I think. And they live about an hour away now. Can’t just pop over there to say hi. My other cousins, the youngest Is a senior in high school. Yeah not going to happen.

I love Halloween. Really. Well, I should say I used to love Halloween. Seeing as I don’t have a reason to dress up anymore, I really don’t care. If I had school, I could have dressed up for that. But I didn’t. So I couldn’t.

So, I’m just sitting here, on the computer. NaNoWriMo doesn’t start until tomorrow. I even have an idea. Not sure if I have a shot at winning, though. Haven’t gotten over 15k before, though. Long way from 15k to 50k.

*sigh*

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Happy Halloween”

  1. Rebee Says:

    Nanowrimo won’t be so bad. Just keep your morale up, participate in word wars with your friends, and keep the ideas buzzing. The best thing you can do is to just stay enthusastic! Good luck!

  2. Stephanie Says:

    That’s pretty much the best thing about being on campus — there were something like 5 Halloween parties last night. Of course, bad music and dancing, but that isn’t SO bad when you get into it. I kind of just liked going from one to the next.

    We also went trick-or-canning, but we went at about 8:30 — when everyone was trying to get rid of their candy. So we got a TON of candy too! That was so weird. And no one seemed to think that we were too old to be out getting candy. That was even weirder.

    I feel like that about NaNoWriMo a bit, too. But I’ve never even got past probably 5k. And yet here I am, trying. Because I got some encouragement. And it’s fun! I’m a little surprised at that. We should do some word wars or something! That got me started tonight, and I’m excited about that. Or we could try that over the Thanksgiving weekend.

    Oooh, we could do an in-person word war over THanksgiving! Hey, speaking of, you wanna hang out that Friday afternoon/evening? You can come over in the afternoon and stay for dinner if you’d like! that way we could bake stuff and eat it, too.

Leave a Reply

